We're Open
support@instaresearch.co.uk
+44 7340 9595 39
+44 20 3239 6980

Sacred foods and dietary laws of religions

Information



  • Post Date 2018-11-07T12:53:58+00:00
  • Post Category Essays

No Plagiarism Guarantee - 100% Custom Written

Order Details

Sacred foods and dietary laws of religions

Sacred foods and dietary laws of religions

INSTRUCTIONS:
Cover Christianity, Judaism, Hinduism, Islam and Buddhism and explain 1-2 special/ sacred foods for each religion. Include a brief overview of dietary laws for each religion if applicable. Include why certain foods and animals cannot be eaten in certain religions.
CONTENT:
Christianity            According to the bible: “God said, ‘Behold, I have given you every plant yielding seed that is on the face of all the earth, and every tree with seed in its fruit. You shall have them for food. And to every beast of the earth and to every bird of the heavens and to everything that has the breath of life; I have given every green plant for food`” (The Holy Bible Genesis 1.29). Thus, most Christians are omnivores, eating both plants and animals, without many dietary laws that forbid them from certain types of food. Christianity has two main branches, Catholic and Orthodox, and the respective churches follow their own restrictions when it comes to dietary practices. For example, some Christians don`t drink alcohol, while other churches such as the Seventh Day Adventists forbid eating pork and dairy products (“Food Culture and Religion.” Better Health Channel). All Christians however, participate in the Holy Eucharist or communion. Bread and wine are seen as sacred food and drinks as they represent the body and blood of Christ Jesus. Bread is seen as a symbol for life, as Jesus himself had said, “I am the bread of life” (The Holy Bible John 6 35). Wine represents the blood that had to be shed by Christ as atonement for the sins of his followers. These symbols can be seen in Christ`s last supper with his disciples, where he “took bread, and when he had given thanks, he broke it and gave it to them, saying, “This is my body, which is given for you. Do this in remembrance of me.” And like wise the cup after they had eaten, saying, “This cup that is poured out for you is the new covenant in my blood” (The Holy Bible Luke 44, 19-20).Islam Food that Muslims are allowed to eat is termed halal while forbidden food is called haram. Haram food includes the meat of any carnivorous animals and anything that comes from the pig. Fruits, fish, grains and vegetables are all halal. Meat can be made halal if it undergoes a certain ritual wherein the animal is killed in a certain way so as to remove all the blood. Muslims do not ea...
 

Price: £ 99

100% Plagiarism Free & Custom Written, Tailored to your instructions